Hood Headlinaz!

Keeping the SMS/PRGz theme alive, here’s some songs from the upcoming Paper Route Recordz album called Still Headlinin’. For those who don’t know “Hood Headlinaz” is the title of a compilation album released by Paper Route in 2005. Some of the group’s finest work is featured on that album and I highly recommend checking it out if you like what’s been posted thus far.

“Wood Grain”
This is the song I usually use to introduce people to SMS/PRGz. Numerous message boards, blogs, and major publications have written blurbs about this song over the past year. The haunting, calm sample from Poltergeist is used brilliantly by Mali Boi and the emceeing on it is superb.

Here’s a YouTube link to the Poltergeist theme:

“Bama Gettin Money”
What does this sample? I think I’ve heard it before. Anyway, this is one of the strangest choices of samples for a rap song that I can recall. The first few seconds do not give much of a hint of the type of rapping that follows as the vibe quickly changes from Eurotrash to hood shit. POPE kills the third verse.

A Diplo remix of “Bama Gettin Money”
I don’t think this will be on Still Headlinin, rather Leaving HuntsVegas, which is an upcoming mixtape that Paper Route is releasing in collaboration with another popular DJ named Diplo. I like this a lot, more great sample flippage by Diplo.

“Soul Glo”
I remember playing this for some friends of mine and the first thing they thought of was the song from the movie Coming to America. Another weird choice of sample, but it works great.

Clip of the Soul Glo commercial from Coming To America:

“Mz Thursday”
This is a cool song about womanizing. A great verse from Mata steals the show. Here’s an excerpt:

I met her on a Tuesday, comin outta Wal-Mart/
Pickin up some groceries, I seen how she was scopin me/
She started movin close to me, as if she was approachin me/
Thinkin to myself I’ll knock that pussy out the ball park/
Started with that small talk, what’s your name, where you from/
She said Jane, I said John, she spit game, I spit some/
Then she gave her number up and said that I was one of the realest niggas she met and she respect where I be comin from…

If these songs are any indication of what’s to come, Still Headlinin’ should be among the best of 2008.

Leave a Reply

